No Salt Added — Are you kidding me???

February 21, 2012 § 7 Comments

Recently my husband was diagnosed with a heart condition that requires I start cooking without added salt and avoid convenience foods that are loaded with added sodium. This also requires my husband give up cheese, cured meats, and other such salty treats. This has challenged me to find ways of increasing flavor in other ways so my spouse doesn’t feel deprived.  I sampled some “Mrs. Dash” original at the hospital but it had way more black pepper than I liked.   I ventured out to find a seasoning blend that I could use regularly and Gary could shake to his heart’s content.

After some experimentation, I made a blend that we are very happy with so I will share it.  You can change the proportions to suit your own taste or make different blends for different styles of cooking.  I will be working on an Italian blend soon and I am sure it will include dried basil leaves, dried oregano, minced onion, and minced garlic, for starters.  I have a family member that is allergic to sage, so she would leave out the poultry seasoning, but might include some of the herbs and spices that are in it.

Gary’s “Shake”

1 tbs chili powder

1 tbs garlic powder

1 tbs mustard powder

6 tbs onion powder

1 tbs ground oregano

3 tbs paprika

1 tbs ground cumin

2 tbs black pepper

1 tbs poultry seasoning

1 tbs celery seed

Blend all the spices together and put in a container with a shaker top.  (I used an empty onion powder container.)

§ 7 Responses to No Salt Added — Are you kidding me???

  • A couple of years ago my then 42 year old husband had a double heart by-pass. We didn’t really eat unhealthily but boy once you actually look at the ingredients in everything you start to realise how much salt you consume with realising.

    • Seriously. I knew cheese had a lot but my husband was getting half his daily allowance in cheese every day. He is a terrible snack-er and I have little control over that. I am rapidly eliminating contraband from the pantry and fridge, though. Thanks for your comments!

  • Sandy Jackson-Cornelius says:

    AHHH, so glad my favorite blogger is back! How much is Gary’s daily sodium allowance? I have had some issues with fluid retention and oddly I also seem to be developing a dislike of salty food. I am glad, it is a good thing but as I think back, over the course of the last few months, I have been turning down salty processed foods without realizing I was doing just that. I started buying a land o lakes low sodium american cheese and recently tasted reg american and realized I didn’t care for it at all. Good thing, Good thing, Good thing! Trying to learn to listen to what my body is telling me. All this being said, I look forward to your new and improved low sodium creations.

    • I am glad to be back. I really had a wrench thrown in the works over the last few weeks and I am ready for some normal.

      Doc wants Gary to have less than 2000mg. I will have to look at the Land o Lakes for him because he really misses cheese. Biggest thing to do for any healthy eating plan is to go to whole foods and avoid convenience foods altogether. I make my own stock now and really need to get a pressure cooker so I will be able to can it instead of having it take up precious freezer space.

  • Kamberly Diane Saunders Smith says:

    How much does your recipe yield in oz so I know how large my shaker should be?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No Salt Added — Are you kidding me??? at My Food Legacy.

meta

