“Old Rotten Potatoes”

January 7, 2012 § 1 Comment


Growing up, Mom used to make potatoes au gratin for us fairly regularly.  There are few things more tasty with pork chops or a ham than a big dish of  “cheesy potatoes”.  Somewhere along the road, this delightful casserole became known in our household as “old, rotten did potatoes”.  I am sure at one point mom said “au gratin potatoes” and one of us heard “old, rotten potatoes” and it stuck.

Last night, I was feeling a bit under the weather and just not up to putting together a good meal.  Fortunately, my seventeen year old son likes to cook and was in a notion to help.  I love spending time in the kitchen with my kids.  David and I took our traditional “old, rotten potatoes” recipe and added layers of diced leftover ham and thinly sliced onions.  The result was truely amazing.  Not only did we have a hearty, comforting meal, I got to spend quality time with my son creating memories.

I encourage you to spend time with your kids in the kitchen, no matter how old (or young) they are, and create a few memories of your own.

§ One Response to “Old Rotten Potatoes”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Old Rotten Potatoes” at My Food Legacy.

meta

